A Non-Profit That Advances San Antonio’s Healthcare and Bioscience Industry

BioMedSA was founded in 2005 to accelerate growth of the healthcare and bioscience sector, create regional economic benefit, and contribute to the health of San Antonio and beyond by establishing San Antonio as a leader in healthcare and bioscience. BioMedSA acts as the hub for the healthcare and bioscience industry, providing industry programming, convening industry leader forums to conquer challenges, communicating opportunities and resources, and facilitating key collaborations for the City of Science and Health. BioMedSA is leading San Antonio’s healthcare and bioscience industry in catalyzing innovation to solve some of the world’s most complex health challenges, leveraging unique biomedical assets, and capitalizing our collaborative culture into an economic engine.

Residents of San Antonio enjoy a low cost of living, beautiful weather, a vibrant downtown, and numerous opportunities for outdoor recreation. Businesses in San Antonio benefit from the low cost to do business and local industry resources.

Our Officers

Ann Salamone

Ann Beal Salamone


Ted Day

Ted Day

Vice Chair

Martin Landon

Martin Landon


heather hanson

Heather Hanson


Board of Directors

Bernard Arulanandam, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise


John Benedict, Vice President

CPS Energy

Michele Boggs, Executive VP, Business Development

San Antonio Economic Development Foundation

Ted Day, Executive VP of Strategic Planning & Business Development

University Health System

Rene Dominguez, President & COO

Texas Research and Technology Foundation / VelocityTX

Thomas M. Evans, Ph.D., President

University of the Incarnate Word

Mike Flores, Ph.D., Chancellor

Alamo Colleges

Gary Frashier, Ph.D., M.B.A., P.E., President & CEO

Management Associates

Andrea Giuffrida, Ph.D., Vice President for Research

UT Health San Antonio

Allen Harrison, CEO

Methodist Healthcare System

Stephen Harrrison, M.D., Medical Director

Pinnacle Clinical Research

Shawn Hughes, J.D., Senior Vice President and Group Manager

Broadway Bank

Bob Hutchens, President and CEO

StemBioSys Inc.

Martin Landon, Chief Executive Officer

BioBridge Global

Amy Law, VP, Health Economics, Reimbursement and Evidence

3M Health Care

Debra Niemeyer, Ph.D., DAF, Chief Scientist

59th Medical Wing, and Co-Chair, San Antonio Military Health System Research Consortium

Ann Beal Salamone, Chairman of the Board

Rochal Industries LLC

Larry Schlesinger, M.D., President & CEO

Texas Biomedical Research Institute

Neill (Gobie) Walsdorf, Jr., President and CEO

Mission Pharmacal


Ex-Officio Board Members

Ron Nirenberg, Mayor

City of san antonio

Richard Perez, President and CEO

San Antonio Chamber of Commerce

David Marquez, Executive Director, Economic Development

Bexar County

Henry Cisneros, Ph.D., Chairman and Co-CIO

American Triple I Partners, Founding Chair of BioMedSA 

Steve C. Fitzer, CEO

Bexar County Medical Society

Walter D. Downing, P.E., Executive VP and COO

Southwest Research Institute, Immediate Past Chair of BioMedSA

Ann Stevens

Founding President of BioMedSA


Heather Hanson


Nora Ovalle

Executive Assistant